My last finals week EVER has officially begun. To say this semester has been stressful would be an understatement. I remember my senior year in high school. Everything seemed like a joke. When you are about to graduate and face the “real world,” I promise you, NOTHING IS A JOKE.

It’s time to use your real degree to find a real job, so you can pay real bills. I always dreamed of this day, and as excited as I am to graduate, I can truthfully say I am going to miss being a Pioneer.

To be completely honest, William Paterson University was not my first choice school. It wasn’t even my second or third choice. It just so happened that when all my offers came in, this would be the cheapest option. That means barely any student loans. At first, I hated school. I would show up for class and leave immediately after. Over the years, this place grew on me. I have experienced so many things on this campus that I could never imagine not being a student here.

Although this may not be seen by those it is meant for, I want to say a few things..

To WillyP, thank you. Thank you for teaching me all about broadcasting, public relations and law. Thank you for helping me figure out where I want to go on this journey we call life. Thank you for allowing me to understand that not everyone has the same beliefs as me, and that is okay. Thank you for opening my eyes to the world around me and more importantly, the people around me. Thank you for continuing to mold me into the person I am.

To my professor, thank you. Thank you for helping me learn and understand, instead of just throwing information at me. Thank you for realizing that my grades do not define me. Thank you for being aware that we all have bad days. Thank you for being patient with me when I just could not roll out of bed on time and walked in late with a giant cup of coffee. Thank you for going out of your way to make sure that I was prepared to face the “real world.”

I have faced many ups and downs throughout my college career. Yet, I can confidently say it was all worth it. I am forever grateful for my time at William Paterson, and I am proud to call myself a Pioneer.

