Born and raised in New Jersey, I have become very accustomed to this fast-paced society. I am constantly doing something. Whether it’s class or work or volunteering, I always need to be somewhere. Honestly though, I am usually rushing around. Thus, I have zero time for slow-moving people.

However, as I was driving home from work a couple of days ago, I began to look at the people around me. I wondered where they were heading, what they were rushing to. In that moment, it truly sunk in. Every single person has somewhere to be or something to do. Everyone around me has a job, a significant other, a family, something worth looking forward to.

With that in mind, it makes it a lot easier to realize that we are all humans. We all have lives that we need to tend to. At the same time, we all go through similar situations. We are all rushing to get some where. When you take time to look beyond the faces around you, you realize that everyone has a story. Every single person is going through something, whether good or bad.

As these times seem to get crazier and crazier, it is important to remember that we are all in the same boat. We need to stop judging others, stop hating people and stop overlooking humans. We all deserve love and life.

Keeping up with the standards and simply just surviving may be consuming our time, but that does not mean we no longer need to follow the golden rule. Why have we suddenly forgotten that we must treat others the way we want to be treated? Love may seem like such a simple answer to a complicated issue, but it truly is the foundation for a better, kinder world.

“Love can change the world in a moment, but what do I know?” -Ed Sheeran

